Posted in Life, Tips/Advice

Knowing your awesomeness

I was talking with my boyfriend, like I normally do. But today, I was really just telling him how I feel about him. I was telling him stuff like, I see such potential in you and all the good you can do. No matter what he had to say to himself, I thought this way. And then later on in the conversation, I was saying how if someone doesn’t want to be in my life, then that’s fine. Because they are missing all of this awesomeness.

And that got me thinking…

I’ve never been so positive about myself before. But here I am, seeing my positives instead of my negatives for once.

And that’s what I want to chat about today. Knowing your awesomeness.

In today’s society, we are so focused on everything that is wrong with us and not focusing on everything that is great about us. I actually saw a post on Instagram by Depressiondetox about this topic.

20180967_154304255127288_3169126964648738816_n

And she challenged her followers to comment with 10 things they love about themselves. I participated in that, and after the 7th one… I struggled honestly. But why is that, I can list 10 things I hate about myself but I can’t list 10 things easily?

That’s society and the media’s role in our lives. They expect us to look a certain way, act a certain way and to like certain things. It’s kind of like mind controlling us.

And it’s really unhealthy for our mental, emotional and even physical health. The way that things are with society and media really needs to change. Instead of telling youth what they should look like, why not teach youth to love their bodies regardless because every body is beautiful.

But this post isn’t about the media, my lovely friend Chloe just did a blog post about social media. So check that out – Is Social Media bad for our Mental Health? She has very great points in that.


 

What I really want to get out of this post is to teach you to learn to love yourself not hate it. Think about everything is good for you and focus on it. Because that is who you are. Not all the negative parts, like yes, that’s you, but that’s society’s stupid rules on how you should be or how you should look.

 11267175_652537938210021_3807624465348593748_n

For example, I use to hate my smile because it’s crooked. But I’ve grown to love it. My smile is pure, and once I started to become happier… My smile shows that and people can see it and it makes people happier. My smile is genuine and beautiful to me, but society and those people who are a slave to society’s rules to looks and actions, will just see it as an ugly and crooked smile.

 

 

So, embrace your awesomeness because you are awesome. You are amazing and you are beautiful just the way you are! And here’s a tip, as long as you think you are beautiful, no matter what anyone else says… you’ll be on top and you’ll think you’re beautiful even when someone says you’re not. (And when that happens, you just got to brush it off and don’t let it bother you. Negativity like that shouldn’t matter.)

So yeah, like I say to anyone who wants to leave my life. Go ahead, you’re missing out all this awesomeness!

And if someone wants to walk out of your life, let them. If they are going to miss out on an amazing (And awesome!) person like you, it’s seriously their loss. I’ve realized that after a while. I use to be so afraid of people leaving my life. That’s all I was use to.. friends leaving because of my depression (this was early high school) or guys who I really like leaving me or our relationship. And after all this time, looking back. I wish I didn’t spend a lot of time and energy on getting them back or crying over them. Because, I’m doing really great right now and I didn’t need them in my life. I only need the people who want me, respect and love me for who I am.

Keep it positive, keep it awesome and like always.. keep it dorky!

With lots of love,

Jade ♥

 

Author:

Lover and Peacekeeper. Mental Health Advocate. Future Counselor and Mental Health Educator. A superhero in training. Here to save the world by spreading some love and positivity! 😊 If you want to learn more, click "About your friend Jade" at the top of the site :)

Leave a Reply

